Enduring traditions of Aboriginal protest

Truth-telling amid the dark shadows of history

Featured in

  • Published 20180807
  • ISBN: 9781925603316
  • Extent: 264pp
  • Paperback (234 x 153mm), eBook

NOBODY SEEMED QUITE capable of distinguishing John Noble from Jimmy Clements when the pair turned up for the royal opening of the new Commonwealth Parliament building in Canberra. It was Monday, 9 May 1927. And as far as European Australia was concerned, the original inhabitants of the Limestone Plains, upon which Canberra was imposed, were extinct – vanished.

As Frederick Watson wrote in his Brief History of Canberra, timed to coincide with the inauguration of the new Parliament House in 1927, ‘virtually nothing remains to indicate the former existence of the Aborigines, the original inhabitants of Canberra, except a few place names’.

Already a subscriber? Sign in here

If you are an educator or student wishing to access content for study purposes please contact us at griffithreview@griffith.edu.au

Share article

More from author

Transforming the bush

ReportageTHESE COWS ARE in no hurry. Each just meanders to the dairy, all rolling hindquarters, swishing tails and loping heads, the blue-black and tan...

More from this edition

No republic without a soul

EssayABORIGINAL PEOPLES AND Torres Strait Islanders have just marked two hundred and thirty years of patience with displaced Europeans. We choose patience because we...

Centre of controversy

ReportageALICE SPRINGS TOWN centre is surrounded by three prominent hills, each of them sacred to Central Arrernte people, the traditional owners of the area...

Whispering in our hearts

IntroductionLONG BEFORE 1873, when William Christie Gosse ‘discovered’ the six-hundred-million-year-old sandstone monolith at the centre of Australia and called it Ayers – for the...

Stay up to date with the latest, news, articles and special offers from Griffith Review.