Fellowship winners announced

Eight outstanding writers will receive Griffith Review Writing Fellowships. The fellowships will enable writers to develop work already underway, and will result in publication in Griffith Review during 2017.

The recipients of the fellowships are:

Lech Blaine
Laura Elvery
Jim Hearn
Bri Lee
Rowena Lennox
Linda Neil
Kristina Olsson
Nigel Powell

The response to the announcement of the fellowships was remarkable, with more than seventy Queensland writers applying. The fellowships are a partnership between State Library of Queensland and Griffith Review, and are supported by Griffith Review patron Dr Cathryn Mittelheuser AM, plus other donors.

Editor of Griffith Review Professor Julianne Schultz AM FAHA said, ‘Choosing the writers and projects to support was a real challenge, as the range and quality of the applications was exceptional. This is a measure of the depth of talent in the Queensland writing community and the value of providing financial support to enable writers to focus on their work.’

Premier and Arts Minister Annastacia Palaszczuk congratulated the fellowship recipients.

‘The Fellowships receive matched funding from the Queensland Government and demonstrate our commitment to the literary sector to secure the future of writing in Queensland,’ the Premier said.

In addition to these fellowship recipients Griffith Review will also commission other candidates to write for the quarterly in 2017.

‘There is such a wealth of wonderful work on offer, I am keen to find a way to publish as much of it as possible,’ Prof Schultz said.

Another round of fellowships will be advertised in mid 2017.

State Librarian and CEO Vicki McDonald said State Library of Queensland was proud to support new writing talent in this capacity.

‘At State Library we are committed to encouraging Queensland writers and creating opportunities for them to develop, and tell new stories of our state’, Ms McDonald said.

This program is supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland, and State Library of Queensland.