Robert Hillman is the author of five books, including the award-winning autobiography, The Boy in the Green Suit (Scribe Publications) which won the 2005 Australian National Biography Award and was short-listed for the 2005 Queensland Premier's Awards in the category of best non-fiction book.

His first novel, A Life of Days, appeared in 1988, and was followed by The Hour of Disguise (1990), Writing Sparrow Hill (1996), and The Deepest Part of the Lake (2001).

After many years of teaching in high schools and university, Robert Hillman now works as a full-time writer. He has three children and lives in Warburton, in Victoria's Yarra Valley.

Pieces by Robert Hillman

The ballad of Frank and Hazel
Edition 10: Family Politics

Beyond pity
Edition 15: Divided Nation

The fire this time
Edition 25: After the Crisis

White me
Edition 31: Ways of Seeing

Griffith Review