Ian Townsend is completing his history PhD on the 1899 Pearling Fleet Disaster at the University of Queensland.

He worked for many years with ABC Radio National and is the winner of four Eureka Prizes for science and medical journalism.

His books include the novels Affection (4th Estate, 2007) and The Devil’s Eye (HarperCollins, 2008), and the non-fiction Line of Fire (HarperCollins, 2017).

Pieces by Ian Townsend

Cyclones, fake news and history
Edition 64: The New Disruptors

Learning from forgotten epidemics
Edition 17: Staying Alive

Griffith Review