Holly Ringland

Holly Ringland.2

Holly Ringland’s first novel, The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, was published by 4th Estate in 2018. It has sold in more than thirty territories and won the Australian Book Industry Award General Fiction Book of the Year in May 2019. Bruna Papandrea’s production company Made Up Stories has acquired screen rights for a forthcoming eight-part TV series. Holly can be found at hollyringland.com.


The market seller

FictionFor as long as she could, Emily hung back among the shelves of her shop. Being near books was one of the few things that truly comforted her. Her love of fairytales in particular, for the hope in darkness within them, had been the reason she’d started her market bookshop after Robert left her with barely anything following their divorce. Emily picked up a Victorian anthology of fairytales and poems, ran her fingertips along its edges, thinking of all the ways second chances might arrive in a life. Of how much she had to offer someone, how much love she had to give, if only she could find the courage.

Might be rainbows

MemoirThe third edition of Griffith Review's Sunday-reading summer features Holly Ringland's memoir 'Might be rainbows'. In this moving memoir, Ringland tells the story of her life-changing trip through remote communities in Western Australia to procure Aboriginal artwork, destroying preconceptions...

Share Contributor
Stay up to date with the latest, news, articles and special offers from Griffith Review.