Christos Tsiolkas is the author of six novels. His fourth, the international bestseller The Slap (Allen & Unwin, 2008), won Overall Best Book in the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize 2009, was shortlisted for the 2009 Miles Franklin Literary Award, longlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize and won the Australian Literary Society Gold. His fifth novel Barracuda (Allen & Unwin, 2013) was shortlisted for the ALS Gold Medal and the inaugural Voss Literary Prize. His collection of short stories, Merciless Gods (Allen & Unwin), was published in 2014 and his critical literary study On Patrick White (Black Inc.) came out in 2018. His latest, Damascus (Allen & Unwin), was published in 2019.

Image credit: Zoe Ali 

Pieces by Christos Tsiolkas

Class, identity, justice
Edition 69: The European Exchange

Griffith Review