Ali Cobby Eckermann


Ali Cobby Eckermann’s first collection little bit long time (Picaro Press) was published in 2009. Ruby Moonlight (Magabala Books, 2012) won the 2013 Book of the Year in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. Her memoir Too Afraid to Cry (Ilura Press, 2015) won the inaugural Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship at the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature in 2016.


Whose heart is this

PoetryI saw through my grandmothers eyes The removal of my mother I shared my grandmothers heart I felt her pain I shared my eyes with her The removal of my son She shared my heart She shared my pain We are broken by the seeing The removal of...

When silence is handcuffed

Poetryshe knew when she awokethat some one had raped hergathering her clothes togetherin the back alley she dressed quicklyflushed herself pissing behind a treespat and spat and spat to clean her mouthbefore joining the anonymity in the malland watching...

Share Contributor
Stay up to date with the latest, news, articles and special offers from Griffith Review.